Arbourthorne Community Primary School

Arbourthorne Community Primary School

Team Arbourthorne Excellence as Standard


What are School Governors?

Schools have a Governing Body, made up of a group people who have a passion for education and to see that pupils receive the very best education they can.  A Governing Body is representative of the schools staff, parents, local authority and others who provide the skills the Governing Body needs to carry out its functions.  They work as a collective group to meet the three statutory requirements: to ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction; hold the head teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and it's pupils; oversee financial performance and to ensure money is well spent.

The Governing Body work with the school leadership to assist in improvement and are driven to deliver the best education for all pupils.  Our Governing Body is responsible for the overall strategic management of our school, both financially and academically.  We monitor progress towards targets set, contribute to robust planning for school improvement and take part in learning walks, school monitoring and holding staff accountable for all activities and those  linked to our school priorities identified in the school improvement plan. 

The Governing Body  consists of : 2 parent governors (elected by the parents), 1 Local Authority governor, 1 staff governor (elected by the staff), Head Teacher and up to 16 Co-Opted governors (one of whom will be a member of staff from the school).  In addition we have Associate Members who are appointed to work with the governing body from time to time.   A governor’s term of office is 4 years. 

The Governing Body carries out its work under a system of committees and full meetings.  Our committees consist of: Strategic; Teaching, Learning and Attainment; Finance, Premises and Personnel.  All governors are invited to attend all full meetings and must serve on at least one of the committees.  In addition governors attend additional meetings and training as required and come into school to represent the Governing Body at formal monitoring and events.

Zoe Dobbins is the Clerk to the Governing Body.

If you are interested in knowing more about school governance, then please contact the Chair of Governors through the school office.


Caroline Beattie - Chair of Governors / Chair of Teaching, Learning and Attainment Committee

Lisa Shackleton -   (Co-opted- NHS)

Fiona Smith- Local Authority Governor (Inclusion)

Vanessa Langley - Headteacher 

Mandy Fenech - Co-opted Governor (non-teaching staff)

Lianne Ward - Associate Governor

Julie Scott Whitehead - Co-opted Governor (Inclusion)

Lucy Hanson - Staff Governor

David Connor - Associate Governor

Rebecca Gillot- Co-opted Governor (Finance)

Stacey Hunter- Co-opted (Health)

Melanie Biggs- Springs Academy (co-opted)

Brenalda Toci- Parent Governor

Adewale Ogunsanwo- Parent Governor

Governors hold important public office and their identity should be known to their school and wider communities. Under new regulations (September 2015) governing bodies are required to publish the following information to help with this transparency.  A full register of personal and business interests are held in school. 

Governor Attendance 2019- 2020 / 2020-2021

Please click the link below to download the governors attendance at meetings document. 

Governors attendance document

Governor Register of Pecuniary Interests

Please click the link below to download the governors register of pecuniary interests document.

Governors Register of Pecuniary Interests